My Favourite Things

Teardrops on letters and detailed descriptions
Brave warrior heroes and feminine women
Adventure that leads you across distant lands
These are a few of my favourite things

Well-researched history and realistic scenes
Suspense and romance and glad, happy endings
Fierce, scary villains driven by motives
These are a few of my favourite things

Captures and battles and clever disguises
Banter and laughter and foreshadowing
Fantasy worlds that still somehow seem real
These are a few of my favourite things

When the plot fails
When I get stuck
When my characters are mad
I simply remember my favourite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

(Yes, I know. The syllables don’t always match the tune…just stretch some of ’em a bit. πŸ˜‰ )

What on earth was that all about?

Well, you see, I am beginning a new series called – you guessed it – “My Favourite Things.” In this series, I plan to go one by one through my favourite books, giving them reviews of sorts. But these won’t be your normal reviews. Instead of “I loved this, I hated this, content issues here,” I will be trying to focus on what we can learn about writing from the books I love. Though I may descend into “fangirling” at some points. πŸ˜‰

Oh, you want to know what some of those books are? Well, okay, but the list is subject to changes and additions.

{Fantasy}

  1. Crown Duel (Sherwood Smith)
  2. Books of Bayern series (Shannon Hale)
  3. Pegasus (Robin McKinley)

{Historical Fiction}

  1. Circle of Silver trilogy (Maxine Trottier)
  2. Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen)
  3. Last of the Mohicans (James Fenimore Cooper)
  4. Revolution is not a Dinner Party (Ying Chang Compestine)
  5. The Scarlet Pimpernel (Baroness Emmuska Orczy)

{General Fiction}

  1. Mysterious Benedict Society (Trenton Lee Stewart)

I know I’m forgetting some, so they’ll just be lovely surprises, right?

Now it’s your turn. What would you interested to see these “reviews” cover?

5 thoughts on “My Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

